LHRT Announcements

Dear LHRT Members,

We are happy to report awards to be presented at ALA:

-Wayne and Shirley Wiegand, Gleason Award for The Desegregation of Public Libraries in the Jim Crow South. Ibrahim Mumin will accept the award on their behalf.

-Dr. Travis Edward Ross, Phyllis Dain Dissertation Award, for History Inc.—Hubert Howe Bancroft’s History Company and the Problem of Selling the Past.

* The Winsor Award is to be announced June 1st…stay tuned, all! 

We have a fantastic, flexible, and accommodating group of people who will be working on LHRT’s Executive Board next year. We have shifted some roles around to ensure that the roles are filled for the coming year. Thanks to all: 

  • Vice-Chair/Chair Elect, Anthony Bernier
  • Secretary/Treasurer, Eric Novotny
  • Secretary/Treasurer Elect, Steven Knowlton
  • Members at Large, Jamane Yeager and Carol Leibiger 

Anthony Bernier is serving as chair for two years (Thanks, Anthony!)

Quick reminder regarding LHRT events at ALA (this time, with the room numbers).

  • June 22nd (Saturday) at noon: Tour of the Folger Shakespeare Library with an emphasis on the library’s history. There is a limit of 40 people on the tour – sign up here — we still have plenty of space.
  • June 23rd (Sunday):
    • 8:30 – 10:00 am, Marriott Marquis, Room Salon 14. Executive Committee Meeting. Open to all; only EC members may vote. This is a good way to learn about LHRT governance.
    • 10:30 – 11:30 am: Washington Convention Center, Room 154A-B. President’s Program. “Through the Looking Glass: the Wonderland of archival footage.” An exciting behind-the-scenes discussion of the Oscar-nominated and award-winning director and producers of “Free for all: Inside the Public Library,” also showing at ALA.
    • 2:30 – 3:30 pm: LHRT Research Forum, Marriott Marquis, Room Treasury
      • Mr. Eric Novotny (Pennsylvania State University, Pattee & Paterno Library) – “Historical Responses to Immigration: Using New Technology to Explore Old Questions” 
      • Dr. Ana Ndumu and Ms. C. Kimmi Ramnine (University of Maryland iSchool) – “Libraries and the Americanization Crusade: A Biographical and Critical Study of John Foster Carr” 

Again, congratulations to our new and returning Executive Committee Members, and we all hope to see you at ALA 2019!

Jenny S. Bossaller

Associate Professor

iSchool at the University of Missouri

Program Chair, Library Science

Chair, Library History Round Table

Leave a Reply