2022 Donald G. Davis Article Award–Call for Nominations

Donald G. Davis Article Award

The Library History Round Table (LHRT) of the American Library Association (ALA) invites submissions for the Donald G. Davis Article Award. The Davis Award is given every even-numbered year to the best article written in English in the field of United States and Canadian library history. Entries are judged on quality of scholarship, clarity of style, and depth of research. The round table is particularly interested in articles that place the subject within its broader historical, social, cultural, and political context and make interdisciplinary connections with print culture and information studies.

Articles published in 2020 and 2021 are eligible for the award. One award will be given every second year unless the jury does not find a suitable candidate for that period. Papers that have won the Justin Winsor or Jesse Shera Awards are not eligible for consideration.

Any member of the Library History Round Table may nominate one or more articles by sending nominations, including self-nominations, and an electronic copy of the article. Submissions are due on February 15, 2022 and must be submitted electronically to committee chair, Julie Park at julie8park@gmail.com. Subject line of submission email must read “Davis Article Award.”

Receipt will be confirmed within five business days. For a list of previous winners, click here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.